Hot cross buns go waaay back... like the 1500’s kind of way back and possibly even earlier than that (the ancient Greeks had a version according to some reports). They were traditionally made for the celebration of Good Friday. Since Good Friday falls during Lent, the buns were historically made without dairy and eggs since the consumption of any animal products was forbidden.
JOIN US FOR WEEKLY INBOX INSPIRATION!
We’ll never send spam, and we do not share your information to third parties.No thanks, maybe later!